What Books are You Reading?

As mentioned in our previous post I am struggling with some intense cabin fever this winter.

IMG_2138

I have always been an avid reader and would say that the older I become, the more I appreciate this about myself. I have countless memories of visiting the library with my mom and spending hours sitting on the floor trying to read as many chapters as possible before we left or, if I finished perusing before she did, wandering up and down the aisles of the fiction novels until I found her tucked away in a quiet corner reading the inside flap of the newest Catherine Coulter book. I haven’t been back to my childhood library in a number of years but I imagine I would still feel the same pull toward the back left side of the library where an entire bottom shelf was dedicated to The Boxcar Children series. Or, as I grew older, to the front right side where stacks of show tune CDs waited for me to check them out as I grew into a budding thespian.

cozy home library with fireplace

Now the library trips are quicker and less frequent, typically interspersed with errands to the grocery store or dry cleaner. You can manage your account online and put books on hold without ever visiting the library. Once you get to the library and gather your books, you don’t need to speak to a single person – you can simply go to the self checkout, scan your books and leave.

Even with all the changes, the library remains a place of solitude and comfort to me. I love the smell of the books, the hushed whispers and quiet clicking of the librarian’s keyboard. I feel at home here, in this oh-so-familiar establishment. I pride myself on my knowledge of the Dewey Decimal System and what can feel like a secret language amongst library dwellers everywhere, “Oh, 301.102 – got it, thank you so much!”

Card_Catolog01

I’m currently reading The Body Book by Cameron Diaz. It’s a bit of an odd choice but I have been pleasantly surprised and am almost finished reading it. Last year was an especially good year for books as I made my way through many of the popular best selling fiction novels including All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, Make Me by Lee Child and Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. These were not all released in 2015 but sometimes I’m a little late jumping on the gravy train.

2182BA3B-21CA-4F09-8460-C25A82C22124

In the Unlikely Event by Judy Blume

Do you have a particular genre that you lean toward when choosing a book? I’m curious to know. I usually lean toward mystery novels, specifically murder mysteries. I also have a fascination with science fiction novels. Growing up I was an avid reader of books written by Dean Koontz or David Baldacci. I will also read anything by Catherine Coulter (I am my mother’s daughter) and one of my guilty pleasures are the can’t-put-them-down-crime-fiction-romance novels by Iris Johansen.

Lately during these brisk winter days I have found myself slowing down a bit and taking more baths, lounging around the house in my pajamas a bit longer than usual on the weekends and brewing more cups of tea before bedtime on the chilly evenings. A good book has been the perfect accouterment for these times.

FullSizeRender

Personal by Lee Child

The next book I am looking forward to reading is Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert. Have you read it? I have heard wonderful things. I’m also looking for some ideas on books to take on vacation as Matt and I are heading to Costa Rica for a week at the end of April. Two or three easy, breezy beach books should do the trick…and hopefully kick this cabin fever to the curb.

(library photo source. card catalog photo source. stack of books photo source)

 

 

One thought on “What Books are You Reading?

  1. I’m loving your blog Kate!

    All the light … Is my favorite read from 2015.
    Nelson demille’s “Charm school” is a really great mystery/action novel with a tour of life in Russia.
    Just reread the book thief. Better the 2nd time.
    Hope you and Matt are well.
    Edna

    Like

Leave a Reply

