Sip Back and Relax

*Delayed posting. Original post written 11/2015.

Sip back and relax…

Matt and I are so jazzed to bring you the first installment in our ‘Sip Happens’ series. For our debut we headed out to the beautiful Fauquier County, VA which purportedly has more horses than people. I don’t know about all that but it does have over 20 wineries which is reason enough for us to battle I-66 traffic and make our way out to the countryside.

eating

The weather could not have been more perfect for a day traipsing through local vineyards. The fall air was crisp and cool but the sun was shining bright – beautiful autumn weather.

Our first stop was Three Fox Vineyards.

three fox2

Ambiance & Setting: The location is easily accessible from the highway and plenty of parking is available. Upon arriving we noticed some construction happening outside the tasting room. We later discovered they are building a cigar/wine lounge outside – how fun! It will have TV’s inside, a full tasting bar and a lovely selection of cigars. This is the first time I’ve seen anything of the sort at a vineyard and I have to say that I find it intriguing and a classy way to expand the clientele. I would categorize this vineyard as a ‘fair weather’ vineyard because the tasting room is fairly small but there is ample outdoor seating. Luckily we were there on a Wednesday so it was quiet but I can see how it would get crowded and fill up quickly on a Saturday or Sunday. If you’re up for a short walk there were hammocks down by the river and tables and chairs spread out all over the large property. My favorite seating feature was the table and chairs in between the rows of vines! Many vineyards keep their vines blocked off to prevent visitors from accidentally damaging the grapes so I found it refreshing to be up close and personal with the vines that produced my beverage.

table in vines

Munchies: Matt and I are staunch believers in snacks. I always have snacks stuffed in my purse, in the glove compartment, in Matt’s pockets, etc. I believe this to be an important, nay, fundamental pillar in our relationship. A handful of trail mix can, if used properly, solve an impending, ‘It’s-11AM-on-a-Saturday-why-is-only-one-checkout-lane-open’ grocery store debacle or perhaps a brewing, ‘I-can’t-believe-you-thought-going-this-way-would-be-faster’ argument. This is why we never visit a vineyard without bringing our own sustenance. Almost every vineyard in Virginia will allow you to bring your own food onto the premises although most require that you eat it outside or in a separate room. We typically bring half a baguette, olive oil for dipping, cheese, and olives. Sometimes we’ll get fancy and bring salami and chocolate or sometimes we’ll go bare bones and only bring Clif bars. Typically that’s when we’re camping or backpacking. We have also been known to pick up entire meals along the way and tote them in with us. At Three Fox Vineyards they offered the usual rundown of winery snacks: packaged crackers, cheese, and chocolate. This is the norm at almost all Virginia vineyards although we have visited quite a few where they really take the food game up a notch. At Three Fox, I suggest you bring your own.

matt eating

The Folks: Upon arriving, we were greeted by one of the owners which is always such a treat! She was very gracious in welcoming us to the vineyard and was the one who clued us in on the new cigar/wine lounge being built outside. The tasting bar inside the entrance had a couple folks already nestled in so we walked down a few steps to the bigger tasting bar where there was only one gentleman enjoying a tasting. We saddled up to the bar and was greeted by a lovely woman whose name I can’t remember for the life of me. I try and make it a point to learn our wine educators’ names because, for me, tasting wine is such a personal and unique experience. Alas, next time!

three fox

My favorite part about visiting a new vineyard (aside from enjoying a glass of vino with my partner in crime) is the tasting. It’s such a great opportunity to not only taste and compare different wines but also to get to know the person pouring (wine educator/tasting room associate), meet other wine lovers at the bar and maybe learn something new. Our tasting room associate was friendly and well educated about the wine. She lived in Italy for years with her children and husband so it was fun swapping stories about our recent trip to Italy. Although we mentioned (more than once) that we stayed in Tuscany and tasted at several vineyards in the Chianti region it did not deter her from repeating her script which included notes regarding where the Chianti region was and what varietals make up a Chianti wine. It appeared that this was the script she used for everyone since we not only obviously knew where the Chianti region was but we had just heard her saying, verbatim, the exact same thing to the gentleman next to us. I should note that this was a good script! It included basic information about the grapes and varietals as well as strong tasting notes. My disappointment stemmed from the fact that she didn’t seem to put much effort into tying Matt and I’s knowledge of the wine into her script. This is understandable when it’s a high volume time or a busy Saturday but it seemed a little odd and out of place when the tasting room was basically empty, leaving plenty of time for natural conversation to occur. I was also underwhelmed with the quality of the pours of wine during the tasting. Some people say that you should be able to get three sips of wine in order to properly taste. I have no idea what the proper technique is but I find that two sips is sufficient. Unfortunately the pours at Three Fox were so small that I was barely able to get one sip. For loud and rambunctious groups who have clearly had too much to drink I can understand if the tasting room associate quietly lessens their pours (or refuses to serve them altogether), but in our case we genuinely wanted to gather some notes and experience the differences in the wines. This was extremely difficult to do given the small pours and unfortunately most of the red wines all tasted the same to us because of it.

1st tasting

So how much did the above paragraph affect our visit? Not much! At the end of the day the staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and were knowledgeable of their wine.

The Vino: Let’s get down to the juicy stuff! A tasting was $10.00 each for 12 wines. There was a ‘Guest Wine’ which you could taste for an additional $2.00. We chose not to taste the guest wine. All wines at Three Fox are Italian varietals produced in the Virginia style. That’s fancy talk for, “If you went to Italy you would see similar grapes at their vineyards”. Matt and I didn’t do much research before we arrived so we were pleasantly surprised at this finding, since Italy has a special place in our hearts. My favorite white wine we tried was the Calabrese Pinot Grigio – a perfect summer wine as I found it to be quite light and citrus-y! My favorite red wines were the Volpe Sangiovese, which I found to be very smooth, the Alouette Cabernet Franc would be trés delicious with some chocolate, and the La Trovatella Merlot had a beautiful mocha finish and was a rich, full body wine – perfect with a juicy steak or by itself on a chilly fall/winter night! Three Fox had one Rosé, the Cano Pazzo Rosé, and it was nice but it wasn’t my favorite that I’ve tasted in Virginia. I have been on a huge rosé kick the past couple years as Virginia has been producing some seriously gnarly ones. This particular one was a bit sweeter than I like (think cherries) and a tad heavier than I’m used to. A glass of wine will run you about $8.00 here and the bottles average around $25-30.00.

sunset

The Verdict: We truly enjoyed ourselves at Three Fox! With so many incredible vineyards popping up in Virginia it can sometimes feel overwhelming – like everyone is competing or climbing over each other. Three Fox did not feel that way at all. They keep it simple by sticking to what they’re best at and they preserve the small business feeling that makes you feel like you’re part of the family when you walk in. I would recommend this vineyard to my friends although I would tell them to be bolder than I and ask for a better pour if they feel they’re not able to get a proper taste. If we’re in the area, I wouldn’t mind stopping in again for a glass – and maybe a cigar once their cigar lounge opens!

Leave a Reply

